Juan Carlos

Last Sunday I participated with an open group that meets to draw portraits. We have 15 minutes for each pose and I had a nice time practicing live drawing and meeting new people. I worked with pen first and afterwards gave some fast watercolors to give some life to it. Watercolors require time to dry up and apply another layer, so the more time I spend in drawing with pen , the less time I get to use watercolors. It was a nice experience and made me work fast. I´ll post some more of this as I´ll try meeting with this group more often.

El domingo pasado estuve trabajando con un grupo abierto llamado el retratista nómada. Este grupo se reúne para dibujar retratos con poses de 15 minutos y es una buena oportunidad para practicar del natural y conocer gente nueva. Para estos retratos primero dibujé con tinta y luego apliqué acuarela. La acuarela requiere tiempo para secar y poder aplicar otra capa encima, así que cuanto más le dedicaba al dibujo a tinta, de menos tiempo disponía para la acuarela. Fue una grata experiencia y te hace trabajar rápido. Subiré más dibujos de éstos ya que intentaré trabajar con este grupo más a menudo.

6 thoughts on “Juan Carlos

    1. Palmira G.Q. Post author

      Thank you Claudia!! Although I don´t use the live way always, I think it´s the best way to learn and practice. I love the fast and expressive works too, many times the freshness you get in these works don´t come out in others with more time dedicated. Not sure if it happens the same thing in writing..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

