Spanish sayings II/Refranes españoles II

Pájaro en mano.jpg

As we´re returning from summer vacations, I want to make it a bit more pleasant and so I´m sharing some drawings I made from spanish sayings. I don´t know how´s the equivalence in english so I´ll be glad if you can help me with them. Literally this would be something as: Better bird in hand than thousands flying. This means it´s better if you have one good thing than lots of them around but really none is yours.

Como la vuelta de las vacaciones cuesta un poco, les iré dejando una serie de dibujos sobre refranes españoles para que la transición sea más amena. El segundo de hoy es el siguiente: mas vale pájaro en mano que ciento volando. ¿Este era sencillo verdad? Si quieren compartir otras formas de decir este refrán según su localidad, les animo a ello ; )

6 thoughts on “Spanish sayings II/Refranes españoles II

  1. Claudia McGill

    This drawing is beautiful. I don’t know of a saying in English that is the same. I do know this one, a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, which is similar – the thing you have for sure versus a better thing that you don’t have.

    Reply
      1. Claudia McGill

        Sometimes I think of the saying, and now I can add yours to my thinking, that maybe the bird in the hand is a sure thing, but what’s wrong with trying for the two, or the thousands? This saying has always seemed to value the safe bet over taking a chance, to me…but that is just me, maybe.

      2. Palmira G.Q. Post author

        You´re right Claudia, it seems that we have to be satisfied with little instead of aiming higher even if you don´t get your objective. I bet there´s another saying for taking risks in order to gain things. Let me think..in spanish it would be something like: who doesn´t risk doesn´t win. Interesting, we have sayings for everything. We just have to take the right one for each moment. Or even create new ones can be fun..!

      3. Claudia McGill

        I really like sayings like these and I also like learning new ones from other languages or countries – there are commonalities the world over in what we choose to notice, and yet little differences in emphasis and so on that make for additional meaning. And then of course each country has sayings no one else has, and I love the new perspectives from that. I think in English we might say “no risk, no reward”, or a variation is “no pain, no gain”. Then there is the idea of “you can’t make an omelet without breaking some eggs”, which allows for the idea of new things sometimes requiring the destruction of old things.

Leave a Reply

